Jane M. Brewer Named to Board of Directors of Maryland Highway Safety Foundation

Timonium, MD — Regional certified public accounting, tax, and consulting firm KatzAbosch today announced that Jane M. Brewer, CPA, MST and Shareholder has been named a member of the Board of Directors for Maryland Highway Safety Foundation, a non-profit organization that was founded as the result of a team of concerned business, civic and community leaders committed to reducing motor vehicle crash-related deaths and educating the public on safer driving practices.

Maryland Highway Safety Foundation’s mission is to educate motorists, prevent collisions and save lives.

Brewer has nearly 30 years of experience as a certified public accountant (CPA) and specializes in taxation and planning for partnership and limited liability companies, real estate, multi-state, not-for-profit organizations, individuals and small businesses. At KatzAbosch, Brewer serves as Chair of the firm’s Partnership/LLC/Real Estate/Construction Tax Group.

Brewer has been the recipient of several distinguished awards throughout her professional career, including “Woman in Business Champion” by the Small Business Administration in 2006; “YWCA Leadership Award” by the YWCA of Central Maryland in 2004; “Top 100 Women in Maryland Circle of Excellence” by The Daily Record in 1997, 1999 and 2002; “Woman of the Year” by the National Association of Women Business Owners (NAWBO) in 2001; “Accountant Advocate of the Year” by the State of Maryland Small Business Administration in 1997; and “Rotarian of the Year” by the Rotary Club of Towsontowne from 1990-1991.

She is an active member of several other professional and civic organizations including the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants; Maryland Association of Certified Public Accountants and served as Chair of the State Tax Committee; Commercial Real Estate Women (Crew) Baltimore Chapter; National Association of Women Business Owners (NAWBO) and served as past-President; Charter Member of the Rotary Club of Towsontowne and serves as Treasurer and served as past-President; Tuesday Girls Networking Group and North Lake Improvement Association and serves as Treasurer.

Brewer received a Bachelor of Science degree and Master of Science in Taxation degree from the University of Baltimore.

Maryland Highway Safety Foundation Board of Directors include Katie O’Malley, Honorary Chair, First Lady of Maryland; Fred Mirmiran, Founding Chairman, President of Johnson, Mirmiran & Thompson; M. Kent Krabbe, Co-Chairman, Executive Director of Maryland Automobile Insurance Fund; Warren Green, Co-Chairman, President & CEO of LifeBridge
Health; Atwood “Woody” Collins, President, M&T Bank; Mark Furst, President & Chief Executive Officer, United Way of Central Maryland; Bill Hellmann, Partner Emeritus, RK&K; Burton Jackson, Director of Fleet Services, Baltimore Gas & Electric; Hal Kassoff, Senior Vice President, Parsons & Brinckerhoff; John Kuo, Administrator, Motor Vehicle Administration; Julie Mercer, Chief Marketing & Development Officer, American Red Cross, Central Maryland Chapter; Terry Neimeyer, President & CEO, KCI Technologies, Inc.; David H. Nevins, President, Nevins & Associates; Marshall Paul, Partner, Saul Ewing LLP; Neil Pedersen, Administrator, State Highway Administration; Shelton Rhodes, Ph.D., Dean of the School of Business & Leadership, Stevenson University; Jeffrey A. Rivest, President & CEO, University of Maryland Medical Center; Scott Shellenberger, State’s Attorney for Baltimore County, State’s Attorney’s Office; Beverley K. Swaim-Staley, Secretary of Transportation, Department of Transportation; Ken Ulman, Howard County Executive; Frank Waesche, Partner, Wallace Montgomery & Associates LLP.

News, Tips & Insights Sign-Up to Receive Updates

Enter your email address to subscribe to our digest of accounting and firm news.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.